Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Luxembourg
Luxembourg, officially the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, is a small landlocked country in western Europe, bordered by Belgium, France, and Germany. Luxembourg has a population of under half a million people in an area of approximately 2,586 square kilometres (999 sq mi).

Luxembourg is a parliamentary representative democracy with a constitutional monarch; it is ruled by a Grand Duke. It is the world's only remaining sovereign Grand Duchy.

The country has a highly developed economy, with the highest Gross Domestic Product per capita in the world as per IMF and WB.

Luxembourg is a founding member of the European Union, NATO, OECD, the United Nations, Benelux, and the Western European Union, reflecting the political consensus in favour of economic, political, and military integration.

The city of Luxembourg, the capital and largest city, is the seat of several institutions and agencies of the European Union.
Luxembourg lies on the cultural divide between Romance Europe and Germanic Europe, borrowing customs from each of the distinct traditions. Luxembourg is a trilingual country; German, French and Luxembourgish are official languages. Although a secular state, Luxembourg is predominantly Roman Catholic. Source

Luxembourg Facts

Population: 500 thousand

Capital: Luxembourg

Currency: Euro

Area: 2,586,4 km2

Language: German, French, Luxembourgish

Main Religion
: Christian

Calling Code: +352

Time Zone: GMT + 1

Main Cities: Luxenbourg, Esch-Alzette, Dudelange, Schifflange, Bettembourg, Petange, Ettelbruck, Diekirch, Strassen, Bertrange, Fourbann, Belvaux, Differdange, Mamer, Soleuvre, Echternach, Wiltz, Bascharage