Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Monaco
Monaco, officially the Principality of Monaco, is a small sovereign city-state located in South Western Europe. Monaco is the name of the country as well as the name of its capital city. The territory lies on the northern central coast of the Mediterranean Sea has a land border on three sides only with France and is about 16 kilometers away from Italy. Monaco is often regarded as a tax haven, and many of its inhabitants are wealthy and from foreign countries making up a majority of the population, at around 84%.

Monaco is a constitutional monarchy and principality, with Prince Albert II as head of state. The Grimaldi family has ruled Monaco since 1297, and the state's sovereignty was officially recognized by the Franco-Monegasque Treaty of 1861. Despite being independent, Monaco's defense is the responsibility of France.

Monaco is the world's most densely populated sovereign country, and the world's smallest French-speaking country. An average person takes only 56 minutes to walk across the width of the country.  Source

Monaco Facts

Population: 33 thousand

Capital: Monaco

Currency: Euro

Area: 1.95 km2

Language: French

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +377

Time Zone: GMT + 1

Main Cities: Monte Carlo, La Condamine, Fontvieille, Monaco