Serbia and Montenegro

Category:   World Travel Directory  :  Europe  :  Serbia and Montenegro
Montenegro (meaning "Black Mountain" in English) is a country located in Southeastern Europe. It has a coast on the Adriatic Sea to the south-west and is bordered by Croatia to the west, Bosnia and Herzegovina to the northwest, Serbia to the northeast, Kosovo to the East and Albania to the southeast. Its capital and largest city is Podgorica, while Cetinje is designated as the Prijestonica (????????????), meaning the former Royal Capital City.

Montenegro is a member of the United Nations, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, CEFTA, Council of Europe and Montenegro is also a founding member of the Union for the Mediterranean. It is also a potential candidate for membership in the European Union and NATO.

A sovereign principality since the Late Middle Ages, Montenegro saw its independence from the Ottoman Empire formally recognized in 1878. From 1918, it was a part of various incarnations of Yugoslavia. On the basis of a referendum held on 21 May 2006, Montenegro declared independence on 3 June. On 28 June 2006, it became the 192nd member state of the United Nations, and on 11 May 2007 the 47th member state of the Council of Europe. On 15 December 2008, Montenegro presented its official application to the European Union, with the hopes of gaining EU candidate status by 2009.  Source

Montenegro Facts

Population: 678 thousand

Capital: Podgorica

Currency: Euro

Area: 13,812 km2

: Montenegrin

Main Religion: Christian

Calling Code: +382

Time Zone: GMT + 1

Main Cities: Podgorica, Nikshik